Prague Exhibition

World champion Stuart Bingham will take on European champion Michael Wilde in Prague on the 23rd of February in a special exhibition. This exhibiton contest called the Prague Snooker Champions will take place in the ballroom of the Prague Congress Centre and should be a superb nights entertainment.
V úterý 23. února 2016 se ve Společenském sále pražského Kongresového centra uskuteční exhibiční utkání ve snookeru mezi mistrem světa Stuartem Binghamem a jeho vyzyvatelem, mistrem Evropy Michaelem Wildem. Souboj pod názvem Prague Snooker Champions bude zahájen v 19:00. 

Seventh title for England in 24 editions

Michael Wild, 34 (pictured here with his girlfriend, Emma)  is the 7th Englishman to became European Snooker Champion, after he had beaten, at the final of the Men 2015 European Snooker Championships, in Prague, Jamie Rhys Clarke (Wales), by 7-4.


The first one was Stefan Mazrocis, in 1988, in Scheveningen, but also Neil Mosley (1993), David Lilley (1995), Craig Butler (2000), David Grace (2008) and Mitchell Mann (2015) got the European crown before him. A great achievement for England, who got seven winners in 24 editions of the European Snooker Championships.




1988 Scheveningen (Hol)   Stefan Mazrocis (Eng)      Paul Mifsud (Mal)      11-7

1993 Helsinki    Neil Mosley (Eng)      Robin Hull (Fin) 8-6

1994 Budapest  Danny Lathouwers (Bel)    Stefan Van Der Borght (Bel)     8-2

1995 Belfast     David Lilley (Eng)      David Gray (Eng)       8-7

1996 Antwerp (Bel)   Graham Horne (Sco) Kristjan Helgason (Ice)     8-5

1997 Biarritz    Robin Hull (Fin) Kristjan Helgason (Ice)     7-3

1998 Helsínquia (Fin) Kristjan Helgason (Isl)      Alex Borg (Mal) 7-2

1999 Enschede  Bjorn Haneveer (Bel) David Bell (Wal)        7-0

2000        Stirling (Sco)    Craig Butler (Eng)     Bjorn Haneveer (Bel) 7-3

2001 Riga  Bjorn Haneveer (Bel) Kurt Maflin (Eng)      7-6

2002        Kalisz       David John (Wal)      David McLellan (Sco) 7-2

2003        Bad Wildungen  David John (Wal)      Andrew Pagett (Wal) 7-3

2004        Volkermarkt (Aut)    Mark Allen (Nir)       Alex Borg (Mal) 7-6

2005        Ostrów Wielkopolski Alex Borg (Mal) Kristjan Helgason (Ice)     7-2

2006        Constanta Alex Borg (Mal) Jeff Cundy (Eng)      7-5

2007        Carlow      Kevin Van Hove (Bel) Rodney Goggins (Irl) 7-2

2008        Lublin David Grace (Eng)   Craig Steadman (Eng)       7-6

2009        Duffel      David Hogan (Irl)      Mario Fernandez (Ire)      7-4

2010 Bucarest   Luca Brecel (Bel)      Roy Stolk (Hol) 7-4

2011 Sofia        Daniel Wells (Wal)    Vincent Muldoon (Irl)        7-4

2012 Daugavpils         Scott Donaldson (Sco)      Brendan O’Donoghue (Irl)  7-3

2013 Zielona Góra     Robin Hull (Fin) Gareth Allen (Wal)    7-2

2014 Sofia (Bul)        Mitchell Mann (Eng)  John Whitty (Eng)    7-2

2015 Prague (Cze)     Michael Wild (Eng)    Jamie Clarke (Wal)   7-4


Prague gone Wild

Michael Wild (England) 34 years, is the 2015 European Snooker Champion, a title he just won this Saturday beating Jamie Rhys Clarke (Wales) 7-4 in the Grand Final, at Prague’s Top Hotel, in a a clash that lasted more than four hours until the new European King and successor of 2014 winner, Mitchell Mann (England) was crowned.


It’s the first European crown for the former world number 121 and professional in the 2003/04 season, with a best break is 138 who showed during all this 24th edition of the European Championship, since the start, last June 3rd, a consistency and personality in the table that no one could resist.


Beside of the Cup, delivered by EBSA chairman Maxime Cassis and Czech Snooker Association, Tomas Nahlik, Wild won a 1600 euros prize and, most important, the only ticket available and the chance to get back to the Main tour: EBSA will nominate him to World Snooker to play among the pros again for the next two seasons.


«I’m delighted! It feels wonderfully to win this title. I played really well this 11 days and mostly in this final. Potted some good balls, perhaps what made the difference was that Jamie, a great runner-up, missed a few. It’s good to be back», told us a joy Wild, who's girlfriend. Emma, was shaking during the all match but got a big smile in the end, and a kiss from the new European Champion.


The Closing Ceremony of this 2015 European Snooker Championships will take place at 7 p. m. this Saturday, at Prague's Top Hotel.


Darren Morgan European Masters Champion

Darren Morgan (Wales) is the 2015 European Masters Snooker Champion. The 49 years old former pro, born in Newport, beat Jamie Bodle (England) this Saturday afternoon in Prague’s Top Hotel by 6-2 and achieved his 6th European crown.


«I haven’t been playing very well the all week, but all credit to Jamie, excellent player. I’m over the moon by this win. If it still feels like first one? Well, you never know when it’s your last and if you’ll had this chance again», told us the also 1987 IBSF World Amateur Champion and former number 8 of world ranking when he played pro, which he did since 1988 until 2007.


«I dedicate this win to me family, who suffers with my absences. Especially my wife, Tracy, and my three daughters, Paige, Holly and Ellie May», told us the 2015 also Welsn National champion. 

Subscribe to this RSS feed